After weeks of delays, the two weeks of handling & shipping, followed by a business travel and school exams, my 12-year-old and I finally found the time to sit together for a whole afternoon to build the Roli robot we ordered. We were both so excited to finally work on this. We had spent two evenings looking for the right robot kit to buy, to hack with.

We unpacked the box, followed a few videos, got the Roli together in little time. Though the instructions weren't perfect, I was able to fill-in the blanks with enough of my past experiences: I'm a SW engineer, with electronics background. I mostly code in C++, but worked on the whole stack, from server side PHP/HTML code, to Android apps in Java & C++, work on Linux, Mac and Windows regularly for work, and even wrote a few HW drivers when the need arose. I build my PCs from parts, and many many years ago, I was good enough at hand soldering together "decoders" composed of roughly a hundred electronic components to make pocket money (different time, different country...). So while this is my first experience of the kind, and never enjoyed electronics classes, I should have enough experience in all the areas involved to do this.

Here are the pain points we're stuck with: the servos are super unreliable, some of them are working ok, some are working half the time. Sometimes, the robot "dance" works reasonably well, sometimes an arm get stuck. And yes, I've checked & verified all the connections, making as sure as possible they were tight. I also opened the body of the rover, following the online instructions, and double-checking all the internal connections. No difference. I can calibrate the robot reasonably well, 50% of the time. It then can go to the "rest" position, but not always, as often, an arm won't lift up. That, after hours of tinkering, well past my kid's patience. I'm on my own now.